How to Really Delete Your Google+ Page

I tried to delete one of my old Google+ pages today and was a little confused to find out that the "Delete" icon was gone. I asked the Google+ community managers for help, and they came through in less than five minutes! Now that's customer service.

However, the current instructions listed on the Google+ help page are incorrect. Until that's been updated, here's the correct way to remove a Google+ page you no longer want to maintain.

Step 1 "Manage your pages"

Make sure you're on your Home stream, then open your pages underneath your name and select "Manage your pages".

How to Really Delete Your Google+ Page

Step 2 "Settings"

Click on "Settings" for the page you want to delete.

How to Really Delete Your Google+ Page

Step 3 "Delete page"

Scroll to the bottom and click on "Delete page".

How to Really Delete Your Google+ Page

Step 4 Confirm

Select "Yes" to confirm your Google+ page deletion.

How to Really Delete Your Google+ Page

Warnings

  • Deleting your page removes all data related to it—posts, videos, links, followers, etc.
  • Deleting your page is permanent. There's no way to undo it. 
  • If you are willing to give someone else control of your page, you can opt to transfer ownership of your page.
Photo by personalexcellence

11 Comments

Very detailed, but it doesn't work for me. I never see the "Confirm Google+ page delete. What I get is "delete google account for Marin Golden Gate Barbershop Chorus." I have two check box options: "Google talk" and "Yes, I want to delete my account". Don't want to delete the entire account, just one page in the Marin Golden Gate Barbershop Chorus account. How could they have made this any more confusing?

+1 E. Bond, I am having the same problem as you. Very frustrating.

If I can't find a solutions, I will transfer ownership to a dummy google account for the same reasons as you. I agree with you completely, it is amazing that this simple task is so difficult

Same problem, here -- I just want to delete a page, not the entire account.

From your main Google+ account, select "Pages" from the left sidebar. Find the page in question (the one to be deleted), and select the "More" option for that page. Then select "Settings".

Scroll down to the bottom and hit "Delete page" (which will only show if you are the owner of the page). This should bring up the "Delete page" confirmation.

I just tested it out and it works for me.

If you are not the owner of the page, and instead just a manager, you'll probably have to get the actual owner of the page to delete you as a manager to stop the page from being listed as one of yours.

If this doesn't work for you, then...I'm not sure. Works for me, though.

Oh, thank you so much.More than a hour I loose time with this, and can't find solution.Now, page it's erased.You are right, Google+ help page is incorrect.Thanks again. :)

I'm not really sure about this. I'm hesitating to delete the page when this showed up instead of "Delete Google Account for <Page Name>"

pay attention to the highlighted part. "also deletes the Google Account that's associated with it". Does that mean it will delete my account all together? I'm worried as it's irreversible =(

Please help me..because I keep retrying to not connect with Google+ on Youtube, I ended up with 4 Google+ pages. And the worst is, now Youtube NEEDS to be connected to Google+ to comment. This really pisses me off as it is clearly forcing every Youtuber to have a Google+ page JUST in order to comment on videos.

Since I have no use of it, I at least want to delete the other 3 if Youtube really requires a Google+ page. 4 unnecessary/useless pages messing with my account and Youtube. >o<"

See here for your answer: "Deleting your Google Account will delete your YouTube data, including all videos, comments, and subscriptions. Before you can delete your Google Account, you will have to confirm that you understand that you're permanently deleting your data on all Google services, including YouTube."

Google has been moving into merging Google+ with all of its services for a while now, and with the latest update, they are pushing you to use Google+ to comment on YouTube. According to Google, this will make YouTube comments more relevant to you, and you can adjust the privacy settings of your own comments more easily - whether you want only family, or friends, or certain circles to see them. Whether it is an improvement over the old system or not - only time will tell.

I did this last night.
If you don't own the page, then you will need to claim ownership and then verify ownership with a pin code.
Once you are the owner of the page you will be given the option to delete the page.

Here is a quick video that shows you step by step what to do. It worked fine for me last night and I now only have 1 Google+ page.

BTW - deleting the page won't remove your google credentials or your personal google+ page. You will still have gmail and be able to access profile and any pages you don't want to delete.

Short article here about how to remove a duplicate listing or page you don't want.

Thanks Tess! That was very useful.

THIS WHOLE GOOGLE+ IS A HOLE THING IT DOES NOT WORK FOR $HIT AND IS NOTHING BUT A BIG PAIN IN THE SIT DOWN AREA
YOU CAN NOT GET RID OF IT

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest